When I first opened up the package of brand-new sheets, I was surprised. When I thought of sheets made out of eucalyptus, I had anticipated light and airy bedding that felt like crisp linen. Instead, I was greeted with a regal purple set of sheets that felt smooth and shiny, closer to sateen than percale. I’ll admit, upon first glance, I had my doubts that these sheets could really be as cool and breathable as they claim. So to really put them to the test, I waited until a particularly warm night to try them out. After putting the sheets on my bed and slipping my pillow into the funky purple cover, I was ready to sleep. The second my head hit the pillow, I was surprised by how cool it felt—and somehow, it seemed to stay cool for a long time (at least until I drifted off to sleep). And as far as the sheets themselves, they seemed to fall somewhere in between a sateen and a percale. When I first got into bed, I immediately noticed the smooth texture that’s more reminiscent of a tightly woven synthetic fabric than what I would expect from eucalyptus bedding, but over time, I realized that they did have a certain crispness that reminded me of a percale that will soften over time and after several washes. The end result is a sheet that feels silky and substantial, yet is somehow still cool and breathable. Besides being comfortable, these eucalyptus sheets require 96 percent less water and 30 percent less energy to produce than the standard cotton sheet. Plus, no insecticides or pesticides are used during the process. Okay, they’re good for your sleep routine, and the environment, but how about your wallet? Every order is 20 percent off right now, so each sheet set comes to $79 and a set of two pillowcases is just $24 (SheetsGiggles.com). No matter which you choose, you’ll be in good company—since Sheets & Giggles’ launch on May 1, about 4,000 orders for sheet sets, duvet covers, and comforters have been placed. Whether you decide to invest in the complete bedding set or just want to test out a permanently-cool pillow cover, this innovative bedding was made for summer nights.